You Buy It, We Load It

back to childhood days

counting joy

Image by Flying House Studios via Flickr

Looking out my window this morning I was greeted with a blanket of pure white snow that draped itself over the mountains like frosting.  There was in time in my life when this would have brought a smile to my face, knowing that sledding was in my future followed by hot chocolate next to the fireplace.  Instead the only thing that hit me was that the roads were going to be slick today so I better get out the door early.  At first I thought nothing of this but then as I walked down stairs, the house bright with sunshine off the clean whiteness outside, the smell of coffee in the air, I stopped. 

I used to love the snow, the sledding, the cold fingers and toes warming up next to fire.  Why is it that I find it so hard it enjoy now?  I know that our lives are busy and as adults, we now have responsibilities but that doesn’t mean we can’t live in the joy of the simple things as a child does. 

Sometimes our adulthood can strip us of the one of the most precious things we have, JOY.  Back in the good ol’ days many of us found joy in simple things like a fresh backed cookie, our favorite cartoon, and an icy snow day.  Now, the things that bring us JOY are probably different like, an evening at home or a glass of wine after dinner.  No matter what is may be… 

Let’s go back to childhood days and treasure my second blissful basic– JOY.         

Leave a comment